Ubuntu 10.04.1 “Lucid Lynx”: First impressions

Wednesday, 18 September 2010

Well, yesterday I finally got round to downloading a Lucid .iso. It was 10.04.1 actually, so the .iso has been updates. That means I won’t have to download too many updates if/when I get round to actually installing Lucid on my home desktop (currently running Hardy – I love LTS!). I hate it when I install an OS and then have to download shitloads of updates.

Anyway, I used UNetBootin to put the .iso on a usb stick, and my desktop is currently running a live session of Lucid. I haven’t been using it on there for very long at all. Later, when I’ve used the live usb for a few days, I’ll post a review. But for now, here are my first impression.

Start-up time wasn’t too bad; i didn’t time it, but it seemed quick enough. And it seems to be pretty quick even when running from RAM. I opened a file in the OOo word-processor, and it came up a lot quicker than an older version may have done.

I’ve seen a lot of users’ comments about the colour scheme. Let me add to the pot. I think it looks okay. It’s the kind of scheme I might have used in the past to replace that dreaded “human” theme. I tend to prefer blue to purple, but in no way do I dislike purple. Let’s see how I feel in a couple of days.

The Window buttons moved to the upper left corner: I don’t know about this at all. I may get used to it, but at the moment I feel it very counter-intuitive. We’ll have to wait and see.

It detected my screen resolution automatically; but that doesn’t necessarily mean it’ll be okay when the OS has been installed. It’s happened to me in the past, where a live cd has given the correct display resolution, but once the OS has been installed the resolution drops to some ridiculous level like 640 x 480 and I’ve had to fix it. Not that fixing stuff is always a problem. But the less fixing needed the better, I think.

I have a lot of audio files in .ogg format so it was easy to see that it sounded okay. But I don’t have any .ogv video files, and the sole .ogv file in the Examples directory didn’t really show what output might be like.

I think that’s about all I can say right now. Over the next few days I’m going to use the Lucid live usb as much as possible, on my EeePC netbook as well as the home machine. So keep an eye out for the follow-up to this post, if you’re interested in the latest Ubuntu Long Term Support version.

Leave a Reply

