You have the right to free speech… as long as you’re not dumb enough to actually try it

Free speech on the internet, right?  Bzzz, wrong answer.  And I’m not just talking about the Great Red Wall of China or Burma or some other overtly evil dictatorship here.  I’m talking about Merrie Olde England here.  A member state of the European Union and the home of “the Mother of all Parliaments”.  I’m talking about Liam Stacey, the guy sent to jail for tweeting nasty stuff about Fabrice Muamba.

Now, I could tell you about the case and what I think about it, but I’m not going to bother.  Because I think the Guardian “Comment is Free” blogger Victoria Coren has already said it, and I’d largely be paraphrasing her.  So Im gonna just advise you to go read her post about it.  Here’s the link.  Cheers Victoria.

Oh, and cheers to The Clash for this post’s title (lyrics to their song “Know Your Rights”).  RIP Joe Strummer.  😦

 

Locations of visitors to this page


free web stat

One Response to You have the right to free speech… as long as you’re not dumb enough to actually try it

  1. Joe Winett says:

    I’ve tweeted and Facebook’ed about your post and Victoria’s. Again I have to express my appreciation for your blog because I think it’s important that Americans keep a close eye on the examples of Europe because while we like to fancy ourselves as leaders, we’ve always followed Europe a bit. And our grand 1st Amendment seems impervious, but our Court has the power to unravel even Constitutional amendments — a power they reserved for themselves at the beginning of the 19th century. We’re in the middle of a presidential election cycle and the President nominates people to the Supreme and other federal courts, so electing a President has impact for generations.

Leave a Reply

