FFS now Nickelback are spamming my blog! (not them personally, just a member of their website, but still…)

WordPress’s spam-snaffling tech is pretty good. I rarely get “traditional” spam get through into my Comments.

But what I’ve noticed recently is a rash of spam that’s getting through, spam messages that appear to have been created automagically, and messages that are generally positive and flattering but don’t actually mention the content of the blog post in any detail. I’m loathe to do anything to spread this crap, but I have decided to show you some of what I’m on about.

I recently got this Comment to my blog post “How to download & save streaming video from the internet, using Linux”:

A person essentially help to make critically articles
I’d state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and so far? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this actual put up extraordinary. Excellent activity!

WordPress tells me this Commentator (name: “www.nickelback.com” sent this Comment from a computer with IP address 205.164.XX.XX (address redacted by me as I respect online anonymity and freedom of expression). A quick whois told me that the IP addy belongs to a Network Operations Centre. Not very helpful; but there are a couple of contacts in the whois info, so I can send some emails if this IP block continues this behaviour.

Interesting thing: “nathanielwmqbea” (the nickelback.com member who sent the comment, provides an url on nickelback.com that belongs to “Choice Loans” and promotes a service called “Merchant Cash Advance”. And she’s been a member of www.nickelback.com for just 5 days! So “nathanielwmqbea” is apparently not a real person, but actually is a tool for advertising Choice Loans’ products. Companies do this because there more often their urls appear on the web, their Google Score gets beigger and they get paid morem for any Google Ads they’re carrying. And as I already said, nathanielwmqbea is not a one-off phenomenon: I’ve spammed/trashed several Comments I’ve received like this, and I’m sure I’ll get more too. And if you are a blogger, you’ll likely get them too.

So, fellow bloggers, if you get Comments like this (vaguely flattering but short on actual details) and the Commentators are carrying urls for commercial enterprises…my advice is don’t reply to the Comments or even let them stand, but trash or spam them. And if they continue, get email their ISP’s abuse officer (available through whois) and get them slapped down – virtually, obvious. Don’t let the rats use you to get them money.

Oh, and if Nickelback fans think I’m being mean about Nickelback… I’m sure they’re thoroughly innocent in all this. And to show there’s no bad feelings, here’s a pretty picture of them.

Nickelback: innocent victims of an evil spam operation.

Nickelback: innocent victims of an evil spam operation.

Locations of visitors to this page


free web stat

2 Responses to FFS now Nickelback are spamming my blog! (not them personally, just a member of their website, but still…)

  1. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as
    though you relied on the video to make your point.

    You clearly know what youre talking about, why waste your
    intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be giving
    us something enlightening to read?

  2. Martin X says:

    I post a complaint about an apparent nickleback.com member spamming my blog with irrelevant crap, and now some ass using the screen name “good cheap hosting australia” spams the post with irrelevant drivel! Well, screw you, dear spambot; except I’m not really gonna screw you cos you’re probably a morbidly obese soap dodger in your mama’s basement.

    (Yeah, I know, I shouldn’t feed the trolls or they’ll keep coming back like cats. But sometimes they’re all soft and fluffy and I just can’t help myself 😦 )

Leave a Reply

